Got promoted to Blue Belt, feeling more self-conscious than excited

Gdash

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
So I got promoted to blue recently after about 10 months of training 2-3 times per week. I didn't come in a total novice, I did no gi for about 2 yrs then took a 7 yr hiatus before coming back and doing mostly gi. Many of the students had said from my first class that I didn't move like a white belt. Maybe other people can relate but I don't really feel like a blue belt. I mean I understand its still a beginner belt but I don't feel I'm ready. There are white belts who can run through me and blue belts that are on another planet. I'm in the academy like, "how am I the same belt as these dudes?" It's already effecting my mental approach. I like to try new things rolling, take risk, have an open game but now the fear of not living up to the belt is making me much more defensive and tight. Having a white belt tap me or not putting up a reputable fight with fellow blue belts would be a kick in the nuts to my ego. Did anyone else feel this way when they got their blue or am I just bugging?' Maybe im making waaaaay to big a deal of it? It was so easy to fall back on, "hey I'm just a white belt."

I'd try to relax and just train. Know who you can let your ego go and take risks, and what new guy is going to try to get you just because you're the new blue belt. Otherwise, don't worry, just train and have fun.

Congrats. and here's some peace of mind: Blue belt is still a beginner rank.

A white belt might legitimately tap you out. it's no big deal. it's just training. keep training and you'll keep getting better. you'll learn more and progress faster if you stop worrying about who's tapping who.

Congrats. Just don't worry about gyms tap. You would be fine. If your instructor thought you are ready, then you are ready.
If you worry about tapping to white belt, then put your a game when you roll with them. Get the sub. Then slow down after the reset.