Got destroyed in first bjj class, how do I improve

chirpsman

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Most of you won't care but I'm 17 years old and have been kickboxing since i was about 14/15 years old. I went to my first no gi bjj class yesterday as I am eager to transition into mma and It was horrible. Everyone went 100% on me and I must have tapped like 20 times while we were rolling. Is this normal for a beginner or am I just shit? I was recently watching a Joe rogan podcast where he said the only way to improve was by rolling with people less experienced than you, if that's the case and I am the least experienced in the gym will it be hard for me to improve?
I understand it may sound like a stupid question but each class we learn new techniques and I feel that I will never get to learn the basics, is youtube a good source to learn from? I am hoping to transition to gi training after I get the hang of it with no gi.
No hate please I am a grappling noob and I know sherdoggers love giving sarcastic responses to feed their egos.
Thanks in advance

Why would yo expect anything different but getting destroyed in your first class? Kickboxing translate just as good as ballet to grappling, if not less. It has nothing to do so forget your kickboxing experience.

Now, don’t worry, and forget about getting g destroyed, it should be fun to roll, if you are i there with a mindset of a competition every single training, you will end up quiting. Considered this, is not a fight, your not engaging in a real physical confrontation with anyone, it’s a sport where people that has been doing it longer than. You are better at it, that’s it, it has nothing to do with you.