good MMA gloves?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment Discussion' started by koatliki, Aug 30, 2010.

1. koatliki

koatliki Guest

Hi,

I am new to MMA and I recently bought boxing gloves in our gym and they are not very convenient when you take the fight to the ground because I can't grab onto anything. Is that how it normally works?

Or should I get smaller gloves that allow grappling? Or would those be too painful for opponent if I punch them?

Any suggestions? Also what about mouth guards? Are these the best? O-Pro Mouthguards -- The World's Favourite Mouthguard

2. ASEGSEA

ASEGSEA Guest

Your coaches shouldn't have you trying to grapple with boxing gloves.

Try researching around the board for people's recommendations on MMA gloves. My favorite MMA gloves so far are the Aries Pro MMA. They have fantastic wrist support, and the IMF is perfect for sparring.

http://www.sherdog.net/forums/f67/review-aries-pro-mma-gloves-pics-1293479/

Also, what is your price range?

3. hughes fan

hughes fan Silver Belt

I got some Blitz MMA gloves cheap but unless your British I doubt they'll ship too cheaply. I would suggest Aries Pro MMA unless you want serious quality and then hayabusa or Rival is probably where you should look.

Firepower MMA Gloves

4. KaosX

KaosX Banned Banned

If I tried to grapple in my boxing gloves it would be fail city...the thumb is strapped into place.

I like finger style grappling gloves, but you have to make sure you get a set for sparring - not competition. Combat sports has some decent ones on sale usually, and if you sign up for their newsletter you can get 20% off, which usually covers shipping.

5. koatliki

koatliki Guest

Well, we normally don't grapple in boxing gloves, but last time we had sorta a mini-cage fight, where everyone watched and we switched out partners and needless to say 'boxing part' would normally be about 10% of the fight and then you both go down and that's when boxing gloves aren't convenient.