good MMA gloves?

K

koatliki

Hi,

I am new to MMA and I recently bought boxing gloves in our gym and they are not very convenient when you take the fight to the ground because I can't grab onto anything. Is that how it normally works?

Or should I get smaller gloves that allow grappling? Or would those be too painful for opponent if I punch them?

Any suggestions? Also what about mouth guards? Are these the best? O-Pro Mouthguards -- The World's Favourite Mouthguard

I got some Blitz MMA gloves cheap but unless your British I doubt they'll ship too cheaply. I would suggest Aries Pro MMA unless you want serious quality and then hayabusa or Rival is probably where you should look.

Firepower MMA Gloves

If I tried to grapple in my boxing gloves it would be fail city...the thumb is strapped into place.

I like finger style grappling gloves, but you have to make sure you get a set for sparring - not competition. Combat sports has some decent ones on sale usually, and if you sign up for their newsletter you can get 20% off, which usually covers shipping.

Well, we normally don't grapple in boxing gloves, but last time we had sorta a mini-cage fight, where everyone watched and we switched out partners and needless to say 'boxing part' would normally be about 10% of the fight and then you both go down and that's when boxing gloves aren't convenient.

My price is range is I am not sure about it: I got gloves/wrist wrap/shin guards for $120 in the gym that I go to, but I think they are all worth $60 online.

Is this something I shouldn't save on? Like mouth guard I'd just go for $50 if needed to protect my brain.

Well, we normally don't grapple in boxing gloves, but last time we had sorta a mini-cage fight, where everyone watched and we switched out partners and needless to say 'boxing part' would normally be about 10% of the fight and then you both go down and that's when boxing gloves aren't convenient.