Good basic no- gi guard pass?

Connoisseur

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, just wanted to say hello, 1'st time posting on this sub- forum (with this account).

So basically, I've been training jits on and off for 3 years now. For the last 3 summers, to be exact. All my training has been no- gi, and since i've gone to several different gyms i've yet to really get the basics down of 1 style/ system of jits. I spent a summer at Legion BJJ in Vegas (Cameron Diffley, Forrest's BJJ coach for TUF 7 is the head instructor), as well as a summer working at Xtreme Couture under Neil Melanson. Nowadays, i'm at a 10'th planet jits affiliate in Spokane WA called "The Hit Pit", and i'm digging it quite a bit.

But I digress. What I wanted to ask was, what's a reliable, go- to guard pass for a big/ tall guy (6'2 220)? I have relatively good posture, and decent enough balance that I can stand up and sometimes get a knee cut or something, but against higher level guys I really have trouble getting past guard. I don't get sucked into rubber guard very often, and when I am chest to chest I try to get my posture back up ASAP. I can also sometimes bait guys w/ an arm & get a knee cut.

But what's a good, reliable guard pass that you'd recommend?

For you build ide go for double unders and really smash with your weight.

OK cool, I found a good vid on youtube of that.

I've tried something similar before, but I think my problem was that I stood up w/ both legs, as opposed to sticking a knee in their back and then posting with the other leg. I will try this one in practice

Flik is right. I find big guys who do that pass are very successful with it.

It isn't very pretty but the standard throw legs to one side and drop your shoulder to the other always seem to work well for the big boys.