Good and reasonably priced brands for Muay Thai shorts

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment Discussion' started by Randy Marsh, Nov 2, 2018.

1. Randy Marsh

Randy Marsh by armbar

Just started training Muay Thai and looking to purchase some extra shorts for training. What are some good brands I can look into that have quality shorts without a high price tag? I really like Yokkao shorts and some Fairtex stuff, but don't want to pay that much right now. Happy to upgrade down the road but want to keep it a little more cost friendly as a beginner just starting out.

Thanks in advance!

shincheckin likes this.
  2. Minowafanatic

Minowafanatic Black Belt

Where in the world are you based?

Tbh I'd guess any shorts would do but maybe other peeps will disagree, as my background is in boxing.

3. shincheckin

shincheckin Brown Belt

like the other guy just said, it depends on where in the world you are.

Yokkao is the most expensive of all brands, and your just paying for the name.

If you want satin shorts your looking at anywhere from $30-60 regardless of brand (aside from yokkao)

If you want Nylon shorts you can get them for much cheaper. Thaiboxing brand shorts are about $10 each from muaythaifactory.com

If you order directly from Thaismai, their nylon shorts are about $10 each as well, and are much higher quality than the Thaiboxing brand. For comparison, my Thaiboxing brand shorts wear out in about 1 year or so of training. My Thaismai shorts last several years.

4. Randy Marsh

Randy Marsh by armbar

Thanks for chiming in and appreciate the info! I’m located in the San Francisco Bay Area, BTW.

shincheckin likes this.
  5. Championstuff

Championstuff Brown Belt Platinum Member

Regardless of which brand you choose, make sure you consult each brands sizing charts as Thai shorts run super duper small and if you are larger, it would not be out of the realm of possibility to wear xxxl or xxl

6. horc00

horc00 Purple Belt

https://www.shortsmuaythai.com/