Go on with weight cut?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SoSexy

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
Hello!

I have a BJJ tournament coming up on September 11-12 and I just lost control and screwed up my weight cut last weekend and gained about 3 pounds (curse you, pot munchies!!!!!!!!).

This morning, I weighed myself at 143.5 lbs. The weight class I was planning on competing in was super feather (64kg or 141lbs gi on). Keep in mind that this is my first time cutting and I'm (obviously) pretty bad at it.

Is it too late to make up for it? More or less I think that it's 8 pounds in 2 weeks I have to cut.

About me:
I'm 5'6 medium build.
I have access to a sauna, wheat bread and plenty of fruit.
I train 3-4x a week with a lot of cardio but my academics come first so I can't jog/do other cardio too much cause I have other commitments

Sorry if it's a stupid question, it's just that I'm very new to all of this and I'm not sure if it's too safe a cut for a first timer.

im going to the same tournament (perhaps Ill see you there).

i also have to lose 2 kgs. im starting today (aug 30) with just a light lunch and taking my coffee black. i have not been using A/C today so im sweating my nuts off!

I will go train bjj tonight and ill prolly follow that up with just a light dinner.

so, since we are just under 2 week out its a good idea to take in less than you normally do, perhaps 2/3 your normal caloric intake.

then, do your regular training all this week and next. you should be able to shed 2 to 4kgs just by eating less calories and still getting your workouts in. and this way, it wont be as uncomfortable as just completely stopping eating and draining your body of water 24 - 48hrs before. the comp. also, keep in mind you have to weigh in right before your match. so when you wake up on saturday morning you will be at least 1kg less than you weigh normally during the day time.