Getting Over Prejudices Against a MA?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by BurningHero, Aug 22, 2010.

1. BurningHero

BurningHero White Belt

I started training in Enshin Karate (a Kyokushin offshoot) about two months ago and I'm really liking it overall. It's probably the only full-contact karate in my area and I enjoy the bare-knuckle sparring. The problem is I have a hard time getting over my prejudices against karate. Despite the hard contact involved, the whole kata and gi thing keeps making me feel like I'm one of those kids at a strip mall karate place. I'm probably just getting hung up over the small things, but has anyone else ever had this problem?

cugnao likes this.
  2. ECS123

ECS123 Purple Belt

You should probably count yourself as lucky that you were located geographically in an area where you can study Enshin Karate. As far as what may be classified as a TMA, Enshin is a very solid form of no nonsense combat style karate. I probably don't have to tell you that its founder Joko Ninomiya is for lack of a better term, a pretty hardcore individual. I originally started training in an Okinawan hard style karate years ago, and although I have never formally studied Enshin, I did incorporate many of the principles of circular movement from it, quite effectively into practical application with very good results.

If I were to pick one or two styles of traditional karate that can transition into MMA, Enshin would be at the top of my list. Take advantage of it while you can, and count youself lucky. You will build a very solid foundation for any style that you would like to eventually transition into, if you choose to do so.

:icon_chee

3. td82394

td82394 Brown Belt