Getting Hit With 4oz. Gloves

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by jns86, Oct 3, 2010.

1. jns86

jns86 White Belt

I am an amateur kickboxer out of Chicago and I have been thinking about fighting in one if the local amateur mma events . The one thing that has been holding me back from doing it though is the use of the 4oz gloves. I have been using 10 oz in my fights for years and have never had an issue being hit with them, but for some reason the 4oz make me a little hesitant to try mma.

My question is for those who have experience fighting mma, or being hit with the smaller gloves. Did it take some getting used to? How did you get over your initial fears if you had any? Does it hurt like hell? Or, am I just being overly worried and it seems a lot worse than it is? Please tell me your experiences and I want constructive helpful answers only.

I really want to move into amateur mma, but I just need to get over this one hurdle.

2. The_observer86

The_observer86 Green Belt

You may experience slightly more pain in first couple of punches, but basics are pretty much the same--you don't want to be hit with big shots. These gloves are more likely to bruise and cut you, but impact is not much different. Be careful on the ground though-you may be surprised at the force an opponent jumping into a flying punch in a guard can deliver. So, if you're on your back and they stand above you, it's not a position you want to be in.
    I sparred with 12 and 16 oz and clean shots can hurt you with these as much as a 4oz glove can (in terms of concussive force,ie dizziness, headache)

3. jns86

jns86 White Belt

Would you find it easier or harder to land clean shots with the smaller gloves.

4. The_observer86

The_observer86 Green Belt