getting frustarated

anton

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been pretty frustarated with juijitsu lately.

I train in Tallahassee, FL. There is no real black belt school here, just some guys who are blue/purple belt level. We rent out mat space at a local kung fu school. I train about three to four times a week. Along with more advanced guys we get alot of kids from FSU who come over to check it out. Its mostly no-gi.

The training environment is more of a training hall/open mat kind of atmosphere. There is not that much structure. We all warm up together and then everyone kind of breaks off and does what they want. Some drill, some of them will spar, etc. For someone like me who needs a lot of technical breakdown and detail its perhaps not the best place, but its the only game in town.

My problem is lately i have just been getting beaten by guys who should not be beating me. I have been training consistently for three years here. I am not the most natural athlete but i feel i am doing ok. Then occsionally someone will come in who has no prior experience, and in six months will be more or less even with me. There is a guy in there who about the same size as me, but is ungodly strong and just one of those natural athletes. He says he has not trained before, just likes to watch alot of UFC and mess around with his friends.

I try not to let it bother me when i get beat by a less experienced person, but when it comes down to it that is how one measures progress, by who you can compete with on the mat. If i have been doing this three years i hate to think i am only at the level of someone who has been doing it six months. I think part of it may also be that i personally need a more structured environment with drills, warm ups, and an experienced teacher to help with stuff. Its going in to train with no direction, there is only so much i can come up with on my own.