Getting a dog, any experiences?

Discussion in 'Mayberry Lounge' started by Nesruk, Feb 7, 2016.

1. Nesruk

Nesruk Blue Belt

This is one of the happiest days of my life, I just got an answer back from my landlord and I can get a dog to live in my apartment with me :D I've been quite depressed for a long time and hope that maybe the responsiblity and companionship of a dog might make the days easier. When I lived at home we had a dog for 11 years so I'm accustomed to having one too.

What I was wondering was if anyone could share their experiences with different breeds of dogs. I'd prefer a dog that doesnt shed or sheds little, isnt super high energy (barks at everything and cant sit still for 5 mins) and got to be mellow around kids and other dogs.

The 2 breeds I've been looking most at are the Portugese Water Dog (which I've had some positive experience with earlier when I watched one for a week):

[​IMG]

and Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier:

[​IMG]

Both fit my requirements pretty good though I'm worried the terrier might be a bit high energy for me. Anyone got experience with these or other breeds? I know there are a lot of dog lovers here on SherDOG so I'm hoping someone might have good suggestions :)

2. lsa

lsa Maître d' at The Pussy Lounge

Dogs are terrible terrible beings.
    And they eat dog pooh.

3. Nesruk

Nesruk Blue Belt

Go away terrible cat person! :p

Zimo likes this.
  4. Doughbelly

Doughbelly αlpha-nerdette, action scientist

Get a mutt.

If you want one that doesn't shed, get a mutt of one of the 'hypoallergenic' dog breeds - maltese, poodles, etc. I inherited a fucking awesome Maltese - poodle mutt that was the best, smartest dog I ever had, even though he was a bit of a coward. Mine ended up medium sized, not at all toy dog sized.

Mutts - smart, healthier, all around better dogs than purebreeds.

Big Nut Energy and seatea like this.
  5. Dr Hannibal Lecter

Dr Hannibal Lecter Gentlemen, this is democracy manifest! Platinum Member