Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by joeytriangles, May 13, 2014.
If I can't counter a head-outside single leg with a belt-grip Sumi Gaeshi I'm just going to get a headlcok and DDT them face first into the mat. This rule is fucking retarded.
I'm actually fine with the rule changes. I just wish BJJ would make up its mind whether takedowns actually matter or not.
If you got a crap ton of points for a takedown into dominant position I bet people would start training it more (e.g. takedown to side/mount is 6 points)
I agree Rule 1 is unnecessary and retarded. But the rule against double guard pull is good.
you can counter with a flip, you can't smash them down on their head, it's not hard to understand
It's seems pretty clear in this video that a properly executed hikkikomi gaeshi (sumi gaeshi vs. the head outside single) is still legal.
The single leg rule change is kinda lame for the adult divisions but i'm cool with the rest of the changes.
So white belt under you can't do a single leg take down from the outside? I'm confuse..
yes, white belts and juveniles of all belts will be reset
If the rule will be enforced only for intentional spiking, like Costa says in the video, then I'm all for it.
no way. you know anyone doing sumi gaeshi off a belt grip is gonna get insta-fucked
I'm kinda confused by the single leg rule . I'm geniunely try to comprehend how sumi gaeshi is a threat for the spine but I can't wrap my mind around a way to hurt someone with this throw.
The guard jump is much more dangerous (slams & knees), impractical and rampant than this standing butterfly sweep.
This is exactly why you are training BJJ and not Judo. They got rule-bound and got their asses handed to them. So nice of BJJ to prepare the way for the replacement art.
Great episode! Watched today. Seemed like many bad DQ calls at Vegas open but happy to see they are actively trying to fix the DQ problem
If anyone can clarify...
What about the straight foot lock when you fall/lean to the INSIDE (towards their other leg)
Is this still illegal even if your foot does NOT cross the midline of their body?
Can you still only fall to the outside away from their body/other leg?
I don't see this specific situation being directly addressed in the new rule book.
Hear, hear! I was pissed off when I thought they were going to get rid of the sumi gaeshi altogether.
Also, they didn't address the issue when you're going for the footlock and your OPPONENT grabs your foot, slides it across his midline, and then points at it and looks up at the ref, "he's reaping ref, he's reaping." They need to fix that BS!
Your opponent intentionally forcing you to reap was addressed in a previous rule change. If your opponent forces you to reap, they're automatically DQ'd.
Separate names with a comma.