Foot Stomp K1

Discussion in 'Muay Thai and Kickboxing' started by Tugboat, Aug 19, 2015.

  1. Tugboat

    Tugboat Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,808
    Location:
    chuggin' along
    Are foot stomps legal in K1?

    Just a small debate at the gym. I think they are, but nobody's really sure.

    May not be the best tactic, but as far as the rules go...
     
  2. Harmonica

    Harmonica Strong, silent type

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,779
    Likes Received:
    9,746
    Lol, no.
     
  3. Tayski

    Tayski Stand-up Fighting

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,365
    Likes Received:
    2,015
    Location:
    Sweden
    only head stomps :D

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Tugboat

    Tugboat Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,808
    Location:
    chuggin' along
    Funny how the question never came up until this week.
     
  5. Snubnoze707

    Snubnoze707 High Level

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,302
    Likes Received:
    4,927
    Foot stomps are a product of wall fighting in the cage. You rarely have a situation where you would even have a chance to utilize them.

    I briefly looked at Glory's rules and didn't see foot stomping as illegal.
     
  6. Tugboat

    Tugboat Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    1,808
    Location:
    chuggin' along
    Exactly my point, and the reason for the confusion.

    Clearly not a good tactic, but against the rules?

    Ambivalenceking made it out to be so obvious, as far as the rules are concerned, but in fact its still not known for sure.

    A strike is a strike.
     
  7. Tayski

    Tayski Stand-up Fighting

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,365
    Likes Received:
    2,015
    Location:
    Sweden
    foot stomps are not listed in the fouls of either Glory or K-1. So technically it is legal.

    However I was surprised to read this in the Glory rules just now: "All techniques targeting the back of the head or back or the torso"
    Not allowed to attack the torso? why the hell not?
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2015
  8. Boran

    Boran Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    62
    Because you can damage the spine.
     
  9. bunse

    bunse White Belt

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    3
    pretty sure that should be
    back of the torso
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.