First Squat and Deadlift form check

Roy

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey All,

I've been posting a log here for more than a year now (http://www.sherdog.net/forums/f49/roys-log-1036222/)

and this is my first form check video, please be gentle.

Background:
BW=139 lbs.
training about 4 years
following a program built around deadlift/squat/bench for about a year.
Self taught, never coached by anyone knowledgeable.

Squat:

That was the last set of a 3x5 work set.

Deadlift:

1x3x225 is a typical workset for me on deadlift,
1x1x275 is my current all time PR for DL

looking forward to the feedback.

I'm not a coach or even very knowledgeable but one thing I notice is on DL the bar doesn't travel up your leg. It appears it might not even be touching you on the way up. In most cases I'm pretty positive that the weight SHOULD be touching your shins. It also appears that you may not be leaning back enough because I notice that the weight comes off your heels on the last DL. To exagerate; its almost as if you were going to fall forward.
And your lower back appears to curve a bit, which might even be caused by the first things I said.

If someone more experienced says "Fuck what NinjaBlack said" then you are probably better off listening to them but I figured I'd chime in.

I can see what NinjaBlack is saying; it kinda looks like the bar isn't close to your quads as you pass your knees. It's hard to tell for sure though because of the quality and angle of the video. It looks like you're locking out your legs too soon so you sort of stiff-legged deadlift the bar the rest of the way past your knees. This might explain why it looks like the bar is travelling away from your thighs.

I'm no expert though

Fuck what NinjaBlack said.

J/K