1. Sherdog will be undergoing additional maintenance in a few hours, lasting until 6am EST. The site may experience some technical difficulties during this time. We apologize for the inconvenience.

First Fight!!

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by mdcholakian, Aug 9, 2016.

1. mdcholakian

mdcholakian White Belt

Hello folks, i've been training kickboxing since December 2015 and i know it's a very short time but I committed to have my first fight this Saturday.-

It's no big deal, 3 rounds of 1:30 in the place i go training, all organized by my teachers.

I'm training and dieting hard, but my confidence is going down the last days. I'm going to fight a guy who has no fights like me and a similar weight. But since I'm a newbie, maybe the guy has more experience practicing but he just never fight yet.-

I don't know, these are maybe the usual nerves...

What do u think? Any advice?

Thanks!!

2. j123

j123 Pro Sherdogger 500-0-1

You're already prepped, most of the time the opponent picked out in terms of skill, size, record is pretty similar to you. I don't think you'll be facing a sandbagger, unless the coaches got lazy looking to detail and the guy's a crafty one at hiding his record.

The only advice I can give at this stage, is to go out and have a blast. You've been drilling techniques, gameplan, tactics, etc over 8 weeks now, and nothing said now will change or alter it.

Relax, try not to think about anything, and use this week to unwind.

A fight, esp. at newer stage is more run on instinct, than technique. Its why most coaches will have you equipped with 1 combo, basic defense, and have you retaliate ASAP while pushing with aggression.

Its going to be an intense fight. The shorter the round, the more of a sprint it is.

Anyways, good luck with your fight.

Sano likes this.
  3. mdcholakian

mdcholakian White Belt

Thanks!! Great advice!!