Finding range/opening up?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Higus, Oct 27, 2010.

1. Higus

Higus Gold Belt

I'm still pretty new to sparring, but I seem to struggle with finding range on my opponents, especially against guys with longer reach. Not being able to find range makes it hard for me to feel confident about opening up with my own offense. Lately I've tried 2 things:
    1) Throwing a ton of jabs - even if they don't connect, they give my opponent something to think about while I try to figure out how close I actually need to be
    2) Shelling up - I bring my gloves up to protect my head and I just plod forward until I get to medium/close range. I'll let my opponent throw strikes and wait for them to end a combo before I throw a few shots of my own

Of the 2 attempts, I find the second helps me find the range more. I end up taking a lot of leg and body kicks in the process, but I find my punching range much faster and I can start connecting with more attacks after a couple of rounds. If I try the jabs, I feel like I am being too defensive, and i get stuck trying to play at outside range, which isn't supported by my average reach.

For some of the more experienced guys, am I going about this the right way? What are some other drills/techniques you have tried to find your distance?

2. thirteen

thirteen Brown Belt

Use your jab as offense and defence.
    Don't forget to parries, slip etc.
    As for opening up - just bite the bullet and go for it.
    It's the only way you will learn.

3. vjvj

vjvj Mr. Pibb + Red Vines = Crazy Delicious

Jab is definitely the key to any offense. Learn to jab while moving forward. Then learn how to apply head movement while moving forward. Then... Learn to move your head AND jab while coming forward :) Double jab is also a really good tool for moving forward.

A lot about closing the gap has to do with timing and figuring out when your opponent is off balance. You'll get better at that as you spar more rounds.