1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Feeling Stuck

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by snowolf17, Oct 3, 2010.

1. snowolf17

snowolf17 Yellow Belt

So ive been training BJJ for almost three months and from what ive heard the first six months to a year tend to be the roughest in BJJ but i am feeling a bit frustrated with myself, i train at the very least two times a week more if i can work it into my schedule and it seems that the only people i can tap are people that are brand new or that have been doing BJJ about as long as me. I really enjoy rolling with guys that are better then me (aka blue belts a few purples and when i can my instructors who are both black belts) yet i feel like im always in survival mode with them. When did you guys start finding yourselfs getting to dominant positions with people that have more exerpience then you? i feel like i cant even begin an attack most of the time, just wondering if anyone had some advice or insights on this thanks.

2. koolinkunming

koolinkunming Silver Belt

5 months here, same boat as you. But you're supposed to just be in survival mode with those higher belts right now. Don't worry about submitting them, etc. Keep working on your basics and defending when you roll with them. Put submitting them out of your mind when rolling with them for a while. Work on your defense. It should improve by leaps and bounds if you put all your energy into that.

Keep working on your subs/getting dominant position with guys your own level or lower for the time being.

3. NateTx4112

NateTx4112 Brown Belt

Think of Bjj like an escalator.

You are going to manually fly past the people who got on before you unless they either get off and you keep going or you do something to catch up (privates/much much more mat time on avg/ etc). Right now 2 times a week for 3 months is not even close to being able to catch these blues and purples.

4. Bullheaded

Bullheaded Green Belt