FAT GRIPZ, anyone use them?

MMA since 1993

Reaction score
This personal trainer that i met while working at an office earlier this year told me that he lifts weights using a thick bar that he made himself. so time goes by and i forget all about it, then i started lifting about a month ago again.

Today was my rest day and i remembered what this guy said so i looked up fat Olympic bars and found out that they are expensive as fuck(around 500) so i was thinking about going to home depot and getting a metal pipe and welding it to my bar, which is way cheaper.

but then i did some more research and found out about these "Fat Gripz" and after reading and researching them alot i'm pretty much sold, the benefits of these things seem to be pretty awesome, they probably are about the same price on what i would spend getting the bar welded, but it sure would be easier and less time consuming.

have any of you tried these things, and how much strength have you gained while using them.

Why do you want to use them?

They can be a useful tool if your grip strength is an issue you want to work on, but there's no reason to use them all the time.

They won't make you stronger.

I own them, and they are well worth the money. They are easy to use and extremely durable. You can use them on pretty much every barbell/dumbbell exercise. However, I don't think you should go in with crazy expectations about how much stronger you're going to suddenly get. Absolutely, your grip strength will increase, but you need to use them intelligently. If used on pulling exercises (most back and arm exercises, deadlifts, etc.) your forearms will gas out far before your intended muscles (back, arms, etc.), which is detrimental to their development. There are ways to get around this, so by no means is this a reason not to pick up a pair. Just understand that you're going to have to use them in creative ways (I'll give an example in a min.)