Falling in on punches?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by eternaldarkness, Jan 4, 2015.

1. eternaldarkness

eternaldarkness Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

i have never really boxed under a decent coach and i'm not exactly sure what falling in is. is it when your right foot follows your right hand in too far when punching. if so i have a terrible habit of this that i have being trying to correct ever since i heard it was bad . also why is it such a bad habit, does it leave you vulnerable to the counter or slow your punches? it would be great to get a run down as i'm basically self taught and it is easy to pick up a lot of bad habits from to much punching the bag.

2. TeTe

TeTe Senior Moderator Staff Member Senior Moderator

Falling in? You mean like leaning in?

Your body should be perpendicular to the ground through the whole motion if you are throwing a proper punch. If you do this then you shouldn't have to lean in to close the distance between you and your opponent.

Most of it is learning your range through the jab, the other part is proper weight transfer through your legs and core, allowing a snapping motion from your arm. You will be able to gain some extra distance when you aren't trying to force punches and you are getting that full extension.

You are right though about the countering, I just started training a co-worker of mine and he does that a lot because he is too learning his range. He's gotten better but I've gotten to the point where I whack him in the head with the mit from time to time to remind him he's too close and leaning too far forward when throwing.

3. eternaldarkness

nar i wasn't referring to leaning. sinister's pet hate is falling in when punching, although i'm not exactly sure about it, i was hoping he would enlighten me.

4. Sinister

Sinister Doctor of Doom Staff Member Senior Moderator