ever feel like you'd be a better instructor?

nothinbutMHS

Orange Belt
Reaction score
i always feel that i completely grasp aspects of jiu jitsu and am able to explain them very well when asked for pointers or when i explain where somebody went wrong. however, i'm not a prodigious competitor. i've won six and lost one in tournaments, but i don't necessarily think i have found my competitive spirit, or whatever you choose to call it. however, i love to corner people at tournaments and have been told that i give very good advice if i corner someone either in training or competitions.

i don't know what to think of it. everybody would love to win belts, trophies, and medals but i am not interested in those as much as i am in understanding combat sports as a system. anybody else know how i feel?

All the time.

I guess great players do not necessarily turn into great coach and vice versa.

I don't think I'd be the greatest instructor, however, it's a skill you can practise to get better at

My skill, as a lawyer and professor, lends itself very well to teaching. I just learn base don how you've describing something. I have a photographic memory for techniques that can be reduced to words.

So, yes, I often feel like I could describe something better than I've had it described to me....but I carry no illusions that I know more.

oh, i don't think i'm some savant. i'm simply saying that when i see something, such as carwin defending well but not using his hips to escape, i can picture and almost feel myself in a hold and how to shift my body in order to get out. but if i were in the hold myself, i might not be able to do it.

oh, i don't think i'm some savant. i'm simply saying that when i see something, such as carwin defending well but not using his hips to escape, i can picture and almost feel myself in a hold and how to shift my body in order to get out. but if i were in the hold myself, i might not be able to do it.