Essential Gear?

supdudexxx

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to the game (gonna start muay thai/no gi jiu jitsu) and keep hearing about people and their gear. So my question is, what do I NEED? I don't have a need to be "that guy" decked out with brand new gear his second day of class. Honestly, I'm perfectly content rolling in a t-shirt and basket ball shorts and hitting the bag barehanded, But I know this is wrong due to reading numerous threads about injuries. Any help you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated!

A rash guard, some board shorts, and muay thai gloves (but I train with MMA gloves).

What you NEED is a good cup and a good mouthguard. Other than that, get a nice rashguard and board shorts.

Do NOT hit the bag bare-handed. Please. Get a good pair of training gloves or bag gloves for that. Lots of good threads and reviews can be found here. You came to the right place.

What you NEED is a good cup and a good mouthguard. Other than that, get a nice rashguard and board shorts.

My teeth are chipped up pretty bad. Another year or so and I'll look like "Lil Evil"

cup, rashguard, some decent fight shorts, handwraps, good multi purpose training gloves(that can be used in sparring and on a bag), headgear, shinguards, and a MOUTHGUARD. i have one and am awaiting on another from jeff at starsguards. can never go wrong with quality protection.

ask your MT instructor how to properly wrap your hands. being sidelined with hand/wrist injuries SUCKS, especially if you do no gi bjj as well.

in terms of being "that guy," you cant really help it. i was "that guy" but noone really said anything, as i was knew to the training and the gym. if you want to take the sport seriously you have to have quality equipment to rely on.

I would suggest:

1) Cup
2) Mouth Guard
3) Gloves w/ Handwraps

Eventually get:

1) Board Shorts
2) Rash Guards
3) Etc.