Electricity between Tesla and Edison

Your Account

reacted to your score
@Silver
Reaction score
What do you think

I’m not going to act like I’m an expert in the field, but what I’ve gathered is that Tesla was the tortured genius type, while Edison was also very smart, but an opportunistic person as well.

Not really, after initially being fucked over, Tesla at least evened the score with Westinghouse. Surely Edison's pride was hurt after realizing Tesla was a genius on another level. So much so it passed the point of being positive and started heading into a negative.

Rumor has it they tongue kissed on two separate occasions.

They were basically the Steve jobs and Wozniak of their day.

Edison was just more of a dick than jobs.

Not really, after initially being fucked over, Tesla at least evened the score with Westinghouse. Surely Edison's pride was hurt after realizing Tesla was a genius on another level. So much so it passed the point of being positive and started heading into a negative.
Westinghouse needed partners to ensure its solvency.

These potential partners demanded that Westinghouse cancel his royalty arrangement with Tesla, a step this fellow inventor was reluctant to take. With no other choice, Westinghouse approached Tesla to cancel their contract with its multimillion-dollar value while stressing his commitment to AC power and Tesla's efforts. Citing his friend's confidence and support, Tesla simply tore up the contract. This hugely generous gesture meant that the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company flourished. By definition, Tesla had also shrunk the funding for his own further research and inventions by at least ten million dollars.

<{anton}>

Westinghouse needed partners to ensure its solvency.