Early MIKE TYSON: Amazing!

Jasonny5895

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I AM NO BOXING EXPERT, but have trained kickboxing, boxing and wrestling for years as well been an athlete for most of my life and can safely say that Mike Tysons early pro fights are some of the most impressive and dominant footage Ive ever seen PERIOD!

There is a special on espn 2 and it shows his first 20 or so pro fights (lasting like an hr. because he' knocking everyone head off in the first). He has lighting quick hands/feet, insane head movement and a the most devastating hook Ive ever seen.

I am 27 so my viewing of Tyson was mostly post cus/rooney era and have never seen this footage, and just wish this man didnt fall off track because he appeared poised, and compsed in the ring and was a monster like Ive never seen. He even acted like a gentleman after knocking them out with zero arogance. It also gives me great appreciation for the power of a great trainer in cus/rooney for harnessing his ability and his personality the way they did.

Please if you have a chance see this special, it shows what an awsome fighter he was, beyond the self destructive nonsense.

Physical dominance is only one part of the fight game, as you would know well, having trained.

Mike is proof that you can have million dollar natural talents and still fall short of being the best ever because you can't deal with being pressured, being put beyond your zone of comfort in the ring and being forced to really dig deep down in that intangible reserve of human will to win.

Impressive in and of themselves, those early fights are indeed that. But when taken in the context of his whole career you start to realize how they only represent situations where his physical skills alone, when brought to bear, could win him the fight.

mike was great until he hooked up with don king. runing into buster douglas dident help either