1. The Sherdog Forums are currently experiencing technical difficulties, and we are working on it. We apologize for the inconvenience.

DQed for being boring

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by genki sugoi, May 30, 2014.

1. genki sugoi

genki sugoi Blue Belt

Did anyone else just see those 2 brown belts get DQed for lack of action. TBH I don't blame the ref. This is my first time streaming an event, is this common?

2. ThatBJJGuy

ThatBJJGuy Brown Belt

im sure they got 2 warnings before being DQ'd?

3. genki sugoi

genki sugoi Blue Belt

Yeah they did, didn't know that happened though. They were pretty much just sitting in spider guard for the whole match.

4. ThatBJJGuy

ThatBJJGuy Brown Belt

was it a double guard pull?

the rules changed where your only allowed 20 seconds there

5. genki sugoi

genki sugoi Blue Belt

Yeah, they did that too which looked weird to me.

6. Scrody

Scrody Gold Belt Platinum Member

Sounds boring

7. Balto

Balto Silver Belt

I wish it happened more often. Stalling is the biggest problem in competitive BJJ.

Most of the complaints about modern BJJ can be distilled down to variants of stalling. Nobody has a problem with the guys sincerely going after it. It's the intentionally trying to win by advantage crew that is spreading the poison.

8. SuperAzn812

SuperAzn812 Green Belt

This.

9. FatherSauce

FatherSauce Blue Belt

Get rid of advantages? One of the local feds here does essentially IBJJF scoring minus advantages and I like it.

10. Gambledub

Gambledub Brown Belt

I like what Ryan Hall said, something along the lines of "BJJ is the only sport that gives advantages, you dont get half a point in basketball for shooting and hitting the rim"

11. Einarr

Einarr Banned Banned

Not true, even in grappling - a score of Yuko in Judo is essentially an advantage.

12. Gambledub

Gambledub Brown Belt

I dont know alot about Judo tbh, Ryan may not have even said that exactly I was paraphrasing from memory.