Don't really have a better alternative

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by Miguel Guerrero, Oct 3, 2010.

1. Miguel Guerrero

Miguel Guerrero Amateur Fighter

Its me again. Ill go straight to the point. Im a college student currently living in a rented flat with 2 other students. Im away from home, and money is not something I can pretty much brag about. I managed to pay 40 euros a month to train BJJ, but I also want to lift weights... the thing is I dont have neither the money nor the time to go to a different gym just to lift weights.

So I was thinking about lifting weights in my own room when I have the free time, maybe 3,4 or 5 times a week. The thing is I dont have the money or the space to get a powerrack or a Barbell... I can pretty much afford a pair of Dumbbells and some plates, and maybe even a bench. I know its not the best way but, its better than not training at all, so... any routines I could follow? Before I was planning on doing starting strength by Mark rippetoe, but I need a Barbell and alot of weights to do that one. So maybe a more hypertrophy based routine would do...

My objective is to gain some muscle, maybe around 10-15 pounds, I got my diet planned out, I train BJJ 3-4 times a week.

2. Tosa

Tosa Red Belt

Your college doesn't have a gym?

3. KnightTemplar

KnightTemplar Halloween Belt Platinum Member

Sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings, but unless you can Squat, Deadlift and Bench with a Barbell, the chances of you putting on 10 - 15lbs of muscle is very low, I would have thought.

If, and it's a long shot I know, you can get your roommates interested in weight training, you may be able to persuade them to chip in money for some quality equipment.

Does'nt your collage have a weight room? Sorry, dumb question; if it did you would'nt have started this Thread. I'd look into any deals that some gyms offer students; over here, students pay a reduced fee for Gym membership.