Does weight "outweigh" technique BJJ?

MMAProfessional

Golden Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
Okay I'm coming to the right forum this time so hopefully I get actual insight. I recently started training at a local gym (Bed Rock) and have no belt in bjj. I rolled with a couple of guys there in BJJ and honestly they weren't very good. I actually was better then a lot of them believe it or not. Since then I've been training with my buddy who use to train there but stopped when he won a bjj tournament. He said the only guy who tested him there was the coaches which tells me I would be wasting my time there.

When we grappled I went for submissions and actually almost had him a couple of times but he had good defense. I attacked to many times for submissions he ended up catching me. This happened two times (I got submitted pretty quickly the second time) because I was very impatient. The third time we rolled I decided to be patient and not force anything. He went for a lot of submissions but I defended them all. The problem that I had was when I was on bottom and he made a mistake or got tired when attempting a submission I was defending well I had a very hard time taking advantage . For instance he got my back and attacked my neck but I grabbed one of his arms and grabbed my wrist and tucked my chin. I could tell he was really tired so I exploded to get on top and be in his guard but he scrambled and was too heavy for me to keep the position. I said, "damn if you weren't so heavy I would have reversed you". He said, "It's not the weight it's my scrambling from wrestling, that's something you can't teach". I weight 160 and he weighs 210.