Does Greco Roman wrestling really translate better to MMA compared to Freestyle?

patton217

White Belt
Reaction score
Seeing as how this is the grappling section of the forums i figured i would find a few people who knew a thing or two about the Greco Roman style of wrestling. Im very curious about Greco and would love to learn more. As you can see in the title what i want to know is if Greco really does translate better to MMA as oppsoed to Freestyle or even other arts focused on grappling for ex. sambo or judo? Also any info on websites or books i should look into about the history of Greco would be much appreciated.

Im not an expert on the subject, but I think Greco translates more into MMA because of the common position of the clinch in MMA, and Greco Roman works well with the clinch due to its rules allowing only moves above the waist or something.

Greco Roman can result in way more exciting fights, like Jones crazy ass suplex's on Bonnar, or can be used to wear down an opponent, like Randy Couture pressing oponnents up against the cage . Greco is always a good tool to have, but without also having experience in Freestyle wrestling, its not that effective.

Also, can anyone else think of a fighter (either a current one or from the past) with both a muay thai and a greco backround? or maybe muay thai and judo?

Absolutely not. Its not like freestyle people don't do Greco moves when they train....

Question is does Greco train lower body moves? not really. Greco is a lot slower paced and I think the intensity of Freestyle being a faster moving style suits MMA better.

Short answer Not necessarily.

What you are looking at is specialization much in the same way BJJ specializes on mat-work and subs.