Does bench press damage shoulders?

Dreamcatcher10

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Ive been benching on and off for two years now. Lately ive been hearing about how benching full range (touching the chest) can damage your shoulders. Is this true? and if it is what is proper form that will leave shoulders healthy for years to come

It's probably more aboyt elbow angle than full depth. Your elbows should probably be somewhere between 80 and 45 degree angle from your body and they should maintain the same angle during the lift.

Most people don't bench properly. They do it with elbows flared. Doing it that way does seem to emphasize the pecs more, but if your arms go past parellel with the floor, it does put stress on your shoulders. This is how I learned to bench back when I was learning from muscle mags and to compensate for my shoulders, I would only bench to were my arms came to parallel (about 4-6 inches above chest). This is fine for bodybuilding aspects of lifting, but we don't talk about that here.

That being said, if you bench properly, then your shoulders will be fine. I think Dave Tate has some good bench videos on youtube. As long as you tuck your elbows, it takes the pressure off of your shoulders.

Ive been benching on and off for two years now. Lately ive been hearing about how benching full range (touching the chest) can damage your shoulders. Is this true? and if it is what is proper form that will leave shoulders healthy for years to come

Have you been squatting and deadlifting also? If not, you sure as shit should be. Check out the FAQ at the top of the sub forum.

Yes. Most people can only bench heavy for so long. And then your a/c joints wear out. A lot of old lifters have to have this surgery where the bones of the a/c joint get seperated by cutting about 1 cm off of one of the bones. Switching to dumbbell press vs. bar helps a lot of people.