Do You Guys get Sciatica?

theNuge

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I did a search on this topic and I got a couple hits but I wanted a few more opinions.

I've been trying to go past parallel on my squats and my back has been rounding a little due to flexibility issues. I think this has been causing some tingling in my left leg. I looked online and I'm pretty sure it's sciatica. Have any others experienced this and how big of a deal should I make it? I was planning on lifting anyway, concentrating more on my form, and not going quite as low until I get more flexible. Is this a good plan?

My mom had a pinched sciatic nerve. Around the same time, she borrowed my ab lounge (don't ask, I bought it a little over a year ago, before I started lifting, shoulda got an oly set instead) and she said when she stretched beyond 180 degrees on it (you bend your body to like 210 degrees to complete a full "jackknife") that it relieved a lot of the pressure. After she gave it back due to a lack of space, the problem worsened again, so she just picked it back up from me yeserday.

You might try doing some stretching, obviously buying an ab lounge is a waste. Bridges or something might help a bit.

Edit: I really agree with klotz, though. If it is the type of pinch that require surgery, you MUST get it taken care of ASAP. Most of the time they don't, but there is no reason to risk it.

Should I go to regular doctor? Should I push for an MRI?

Should I go to regular doctor? Should I push for an MRI? Should I stop lifting?

I wouldn't stop lifting completely. Just don't do high weight squat and deadlift or similar in the meantime. There are two main problems with a sciatic nerve pinch. The first one being it could be something serious that causes it, and putting a ton of pressure on it while you lift could make you lose sensation or worsen the problem.