Do you feel like writing posts on messageboards (Sherdog) improves your writing / communication?

brackis1

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
We mash out a lot of characters going back and forth on here, and others are doing the same on other forums, reddit, social media etc...
Do you feel like this exercise in typing makes people "swim or drown" so to speak in that you'll be repeatedly writing and theoretically building up some level of proficiency because it's the de facto method of communication online? Or would you say that it's regressive and allows for unchecked free form rambling that can be shorthand, slang, nonsensical, gifs in place of words etc...?

Not a chance. My english is horrible and my grammar is at an elementary level. If anything im worse off because of this place.

The teaching pedagogy I was taught was that any writing improves your communication skills on some level. I agree to a point. Texting, etc., is actually harmful.

Absolutely. I got my PhD last year and I gave a shout-out to Sherdog in the Acknowledgments. I'm not kidding. You get what you put in, and if you use this place as an arena in which to practice critical thinking and communicating more effectively/eloquently, then it'll payoff.

It has helped me a ton in how to deal with confrontation and debate-- even though I dont like to debate as a rule.

You just have to stay out of the dumpster with people and use it well.

Sherdog definitely makes my grammar more gooder

Absolutely. I got my PhD last year and I gave a shout-out to Sherdog in the Acknowledgments. I'm not kidding. You get what you put in, and if you use this place as an arena in which to practice critical thinking and communicating more effectively/eloquently, then it'll payoff.

PhD in leggo and GI Joe.

My use of English used to be better when I used to do creative writing. It’s gone downhill a bit since I stopped, especially with spelling.