Do I need to workout any more?

Mike32110

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, until about 2 years ago I was the stereotypical gym rat that you guys all love to hate. I had huge muscles, no cardio, no fighting ability at all, and had my muscles inflated with tons of water (Creatine). I did a small steroid cycle once, and at my peak weighed 205ish, literally pure muscle (i'm 5'10-11). In the last 2 years I haven't worked out at all ( i still jog) and now weigh 170-180, and am very lean. I felt that even when I was 185-190 (pre steroids) I wasn't nearly as strong as I looked. ALL of my workouts were about getting bigger, not getting stronger.

So in the last few months I started training mma, and noticed I cut even more weight. I seem to gain muscle really easily, so avoided the gym altogether since i don't want to be in a high weight class, especially not being strong. I'm worried that after a few months at the gym I'll get back my big puffy useless muscles, and weigh like 185-190, but have the strength of a 170lber.

Do you guys think I should continue training mma w/o weights, and then eventually cut down so I fight at 155? Do you think I'd have "quality muscle" by doing it this way? Should I just use very specific workouts? What do you think?

Have you read the FAQ? It's new and improved.

It's hard to say, without knowing your athletic ability. I'm not saying that cocky either. Lighter weights are faster, so if you go 155, your going to need to spend time on speed, agility, and plyos. You might want to try circuits that incorporate all your muscle groups, with little rest in between your supersets. For example one set would look like this.
Bench press
Squats
Pull-ups
Military Press
Barbell Curl
Dips
Leg Raises