did siver take connor down?

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by hot carl, Jan 19, 2015.

  1. hot carl

    hot carl Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    16,016
    Likes Received:
    8,645
    Location:
    in a glass case of emotion
    I counted no less than two takedowns for siver.

    connor popped right back up, but I am sure I saw two.

    am I wrong?
     
  2. CardonaLJ**

    CardonaLJ** Banned Banned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    College Point, NY
    i know he hand one towards the end of the first. the two others were more trips than td
     
  3. stevenseagle

    stevenseagle Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,651
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    43.1656° N 77.6114° W
    It was like flash TD. So doesn't count
     
  4. grzelkaj

    grzelkaj Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Yes when you get tripped throwing a kick, but are capable to get right back up, you haven't been taken down.
     
  5. stosh

    stosh Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bridgeport, CT
    There were two. Conor didn't appear to respect Siver's grappling ability at all because he was throwing a ton of spinning and jumping attacks.
     
  6. Vae Victus

    Vae Victus Green Belt

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    93
    There were in fact, none. You must get the guys back down onto the canvas for it to count for points, which is all that matters.
     
  7. HelloJapan

    HelloJapan Talking loud and saying nothing. Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    17,821
    Likes Received:
    28,970
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Two but he popped right back up. Should be interesting vs a great grappler.
     
  8. Mattitude V1

    Mattitude V1 WAR CONDIT

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    14,295
    Likes Received:
    2,128
    Those were not takedowns.
     
  9. jasonfahy

    jasonfahy Yellow Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very strictly speaking, two takedowns - but Conor was down for a handful of seconds and controlled for even less than that.

    Could he be vulnerable to A-level wrestling? Sure he could, and I look forward to seeing him against Mendes or someone similar. But if you think Siver exposed a huge weakness in him last night, you're getting awfully excited over not-very-much.
     
  10. PanikAnikPanik

    PanikAnikPanik Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    10
    Those weren't takedowns. Those were readjustments. He uses the fighter's momentum to reset himself.
     
  11. 0hm

    0hm Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    459
    Officially, no. Siver scored zero takedowns.
     
  12. BigDaddyBach

    BigDaddyBach Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    No, he didnt.

    Conor has a 100% TDD in the UFC.

    Source: http://www.fightmetric.com/fighter-details/f4c49976c75c5ab2

    Also, damn McG was impressive against Holloway and with a torn ACL: 4 take downs and 6 passes. Reminds me of GSP vs Alves. I have a feeling the envious haters are going to be sorely, sorely dissapointed when he faces their wrestling savior and shakes off, pops back up and distances himself from all TDs.
     
  13. sevynnsynns

    sevynnsynns Green Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    7
    He had 2 takedowns. But Conor popped right back up .
     
  14. Jin Akutsu

    Jin Akutsu Gengar Belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    16,271
    Likes Received:
    19,199
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD, USA
    Nope. Zero takedowns, and the stats reflect that.
     
  15. Namek

    Namek Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,378
    Likes Received:
    964
    In order for it to be a TD you need to establish a dominant position. The TD has to lead to something.

    Instance when DC picked up and slammed Jones, that really shouldn't be counted as a takedown, because it didn't lead to DC having a dominant position over Jones.

    In this case, Siver never really established a dominant position even though, he kind of did get him down.
     
  16. Xhizors

    Xhizors Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,127
    Likes Received:
    142
    Fightmetric says no (Official UFC Statistics).

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Beastos

    Beastos Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    351
    Depends who you ask. If you ask a wrestler the answer is No. If you ask a sherdogger the answer would be 2.
     
  18. Vae Victus

    Vae Victus Green Belt

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    93
    This isn't a difficult question. A takedown in this contest would be what the rules state it is, an opponents back brought down to the canvas. This never happened in this fight, he landed on his ass twice and got back up, no takedowns, no points under the UFC rules.
     
  19. MMA-woooooh!!!!

    MMA-woooooh!!!! Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,275
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    Takedown:
    When you see one fighter force his opponent down to the mat, this is a takedown. He may grab one of his opponent's legs and push or trip him to get him to go down, or he may lift his opponent up and throw him or slam him on the mat. The purpose is to get the fight to the ground.

    http://www.ufc.com/discover/fighter/skills/takedown

    is there a rule stating the back must be on the canvas for it to count?
     
  20. AresDesideratus

    AresDesideratus Green Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Canada
    They may not be "technically" takedowns but the fact is he was on his back, even if it was just for a split second, and he had to stand back up.

    I don't know why anyone wouldn't count them as takedowns, I mean... he was down, and siver was the one who took him down.

    It doesn't matter if he was only down for 1 second or if Siver couldn't "establish control"

    It's a takedown.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.