Did judges get worse during the pandemic?

El Panteron

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
I'm a noob (watching since 2017) but ever since arenas got silent I've noticed a drop in quality of decisions.

There are nights like this one that are totally disastrous and judges fuck up multiple times, but they used to be less frequent as far as I remember.

It's always been this way, just getting more publicity now.

Didn't watch the whole WMMA fight, no opinion there.
Dillashaw-Sandhagen was 2:2 before the fifth round (in my book), the fifth was pretty even, Sandhagen landed the better punches, but TJ was the aggressor and hugged him for several minutes. The latter shouldn't win you a round, but Sandhagen showed zero urgency and fought as if the fight is clear 3:1 in his favor. I was absolutely sure the fight is gonna be a split after the fifth.
Paiva... how someone thinks he didn't win the fight? He got smacked in the first, which wasn't a 10:8 for me (because Paiva got back in it in the last minute), then soundly beat Phillips in the second and also won the third. Phillips gassed hard after the first and did literally nothing besides several sloppy takedown attempts.

I thought Phillips vs Paiva and TJ vs SALThagen were the proper decisions… I honestly can’t opine on the WMMA fight because I didn’t watch it.

Regardless of the knockdowns Phillips was forced back and also took damage in Round 1, it wasn’t a 10-8. Then Paiva clearly won rounds 2&3.

Also lol @ SALThagen winning the TJ fight… outside of causing the early cut he was forced to retreat by a one-legged 5’5 fighter coming off a layoff… he gave away the fight. 4-1 TJ.

It's always been this way, just getting more publicity now.

It's always been bad but it wasn't entire cards getting fucked up, it was one fight being bad and then on to the next.
This last 2 years you get some cards that are just insane it their entirety.

But maybe it's me changing as a viewer.