did dc take jones down in the last round? did that count?

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by Forever Changes, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. Forever Changes

    Forever Changes Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    just wondering. I had it two each up there. if not I could see jones outstriking him that round. If so then I don't really know how judges score these fights.
     
  2. God_Emperor_Of_Mankind

    God_Emperor_Of_Mankind Let's Palaver! Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    10,230
    Likes Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    High Terra
    Jones is the better wrestler.
    Fighting Gus again he will be able to take him down as well.
     
  3. BabyBlue_Bomber

    BabyBlue_Bomber Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,996
    Likes Received:
    6,007
    I gave Cormier the final round but it was the only round I gave him... Though I believe Jones just squeaked by in the 2nd and 3rd.
     
  4. IndyCovaHart

    IndyCovaHart Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    22,604
    Likes Received:
    24,435
    Jones hasnt looked good in his last two fights and STILL wins anyway
     
  5. Rubberchin

    Rubberchin Red Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,025
    Likes Received:
    9,951
    I was hoping he was going to do a Hughes/Trigg there.
     
  6. schwe30

    schwe30 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,506
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you scored 2 rounds for DC, you shouldn't question the judges. You should question what the fuck you're looking at.

    He looked good in the Glover fight?
     
  7. Kertol

    Kertol Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3,834
    Likes Received:
    3,814
    Yes Jon Jones did get taken down. He is a dirty fighter and held the fence to avoid major damage though.
     
  8. SugarShock

    SugarShock Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    400
    I thought it only counts as a TD if you control your opponent on the ground for three seconds after
     
  9. HaterSlayer

    HaterSlayer Black Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,965
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Lithonia, Ga
    He looked great against Glover and looked great here.

    Anyway that doesn't count as a takedown because Jon never landed on his back and DC didn't control him on the ground.
     
  10. Jo Thaibox

    Jo Thaibox Pocket Full Of Sunshine

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,440
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Emma Stone
    He wasted an entire round trying to take him down (per his coach's advice) which lead to more exhaustion and cage holding by Jones.

    Stupid command by the coach. DC was winning with strikes and taking the center of the ring. He should have stayed there.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.