1. We are currently experiencing technical difficulties. For those experiencing login issues, a temporary solution is to clear your cache and cookies on your web browser. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
  2. The official Sherdog Store is back! Check it out! » Discuss it here! »

Devil's advocate: Jones shouldn't have been DQ'ed in Hamill fight

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by AimedWithV, Feb 6, 2020.

  1. AimedWithV Wound in the Force

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12,049
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Timeline of events:

    1. Jones elbows Hamill 12/6
    2. Referee stops the action, takes 1 point(!!) from Jones
    3. Hamill is on the mat, eyes covered in blood
    4. Referee ASKS Hamill if he can continue
    5. Hamill is deaf and cannot see referee's lips, thus doesn't say anything
    6. Referee considers Hamill unable to continue the fight and stops the action.
     
  2. Hotora86 taking points for fouls regardless of intent

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Likes Received:
    3,634
    Location:
    in a 10-10 round
    Come on now, mr Jones apologist.
    Jon BROKE THE RULES and was DQd.
    How hard is this a concept? He fucked up.
    Should have been DQd vs A Smith as well IMO.
    <JonesDXSuckIt>
     
  3. Jojomojo Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2019
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    Never heard that Idea before...
     
  4. AimedWithV Wound in the Force

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12,049
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    No.
    Jones broke the rules and got his initial punishment right - ONE POINT TAKEN.

    Following DQ was a brain fart of a referee.
     
  5. Dilan Cummingsworth Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Hogwarts Castle
    Yeah, both Hamil and Smith were just about to turn it up and put a ferocious pace on Jon. Shame it had to end that way
     
  6. Hellowhosthat Steel Belt

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    31,266
    Likes Received:
    58,420
    If he can't continue to fight due to an intentional foul then it's a DQ.

    Noone considers it a real loss anyway.
     
  7. VVarhead Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    19,085
    Likes Received:
    3,149
    Location:
    Austria
    The DQ was perfectly fine. Jones is a dirty fighter and the DQ on his record represents that perfectly.
     
  8. Hirashin This is not a profession Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Trump State
    TS should test the 12-6 elbows on himself first and then come back here and revise his statement.
     
  9. Ken Oath Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Straya
    New Timeline of events:

    1. Jones elbows Hamill 12/6
    2. Referee stops the action, Jones leaves the arena
    3. Jones snorts some coke
    4. Jones crashes into a pregnant lady and breaks her arm
    5. He's so coked up he forgets about the devil's lettuce in the car
    6. Goes back to get the devil's lettuce while the pregnant lady struggles with her broken arm.
     
  10. Mike Retired

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    37,719
    Likes Received:
    11,697
    Location:
    Don't Give Up!
    Yeah he shouldn't have been disqualified for that. Yes the elbows were illegal but they weren't what stopped the fight. The injury from the slam is what ended the fight.

    And that's what Matt said about it. But yes, Jones is a dirty fighter overall so it's whatever.
     
  11. Fossor Black Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    3,350
    There is no difference between 12/6 elbows and Travis Browne's elbows
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Hirashin This is not a profession Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Trump State

    i'v said thousand times that Travis should have been DQd
     
  13. Fossor Black Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    3,350
    But there is no rule to DQ him, not to mention that it is a legit technique nowadays
     
  14. AimedWithV Wound in the Force

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12,049
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    He could have continued.
    Referee decided that he could not continue because he didn't respond. Because he was deaf and didn't see his lips.
     
  15. Hirashin This is not a profession Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Trump State
    THe explanation of why those elbows are legal was laughable. Those were 99% legit 12-6 elbows. The rules say they are forbidden.
    Mat Hamill could barely walk after those elbows. TS should try them.
     
  16. AimedWithV Wound in the Force

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12,049
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Maybe the referee should've done the same? Because what he did initially was taking a point from Jones for this...
     
  17. GOATtalks Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    They should overturn that result
     
  18. Hotora86 taking points for fouls regardless of intent

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Likes Received:
    3,634
    Location:
    in a 10-10 round
    Does it matter what their chances were?

    In soccer, when a player commits a serious foul he gets a red card and is sent off. It doesn't matter if his team is winning 10-0 and completely dominating the game. A foul is a foul.
     
  19. AimedWithV Wound in the Force

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12,049
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Jones made a foul, and got 1 point.
    That's his punishment. The card should've been yellow.
     
  20. Brit_Brawler Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    965
    Location:
    somewhere having tea and crumpets
    The reality is the whole situation is down to the referees perception of Jon's intent.
    Lets say Matt did willingly choose to not continue.
    The strikes were very illegal.
    Now the ref could take a point ( he did)
    Once the fighter can no longer continue it really comes down to did jon intentionally or unintentionally commit the foul. One would result in a no contest and one is a disqualification.
    I dont think anyone could argue that those shots were by accident but was jon aware that that type of elbow was unacceptable?
    Its a tricky one.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
  21. Brit_Brawler Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11,440
    Likes Received:
    965
    Location:
    somewhere having tea and crumpets
    If the fight cannot continue after a foul then it's a DQ if deemed intentional, no contest if accidental.
    The ref was too hasty to hand out the point deduction and instead should've waited to see if matt was even able to recover.
    That being said , Taking a point does not exclude the right to DQ a fighter anyway
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.