Developing a Game

RetardControl

White Belt
Reaction score
So I'm pretty new to BJJ and I hear people talk alot about developing your own game. Working on the same few moves that you find work well for you over and over until you know all the set ups and how to transitition when someone counters. In theory, it all sounds great. It sounds like the perfect way to grow as a BJJ practicioner. In reality, I find it to be somewhat different.

I find that with being "the new guy" that I'm not able to work anything... anything at all. I find I 'm getting stuck on my back alot less, so I'm obviously becoming better with position as escapes, but submissions still seem a far way away. When newer guys come in I find I can dominate them position wise and finish a few submissions, but surely that's meaningless?

What material do you look for when you build a game? Surely all the moves that are being taught in class are the ones you're never going to catch people with because everyone knows them and knows how to defend them? But then if you're looking to DVD's, you've not been taught them so you're probably going to develop bad habits from learning yourself? I'm starting to think that maybe I just don't "get" BJJ.

Any advice for a frustrated newbie? :)

I'm not sure of the exact question, but to "build a game" you have to log hours and hours on the mat, until things smooth out...techniques become your techniques..you will naturally have go-to moves..etc. You can't help but to build your own game..no two styles are identical. I know guys who tear everyone up with their spiderguard...others with rubberguard...others who beat everyone with basic day one stuff...what's the difference between the three guys? Nothing really...they found what worked for them and did it over and over and over and over.......

and over.