Deload

PlumPunch

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Drawing on the expertise of the more seasoned lifters here, I'm curious to know what the consensus on deloads is. Are they essential for everybody, or only more advanced lifters? Schedule them fast a la 5/3/1 or only when a deload feels necessary? Total rest or active recovery? How does LISS, HIIT, sports, etc. effect the need for a deload?

I've been doing 5/3/1 since the beginning of the year, but have skipped the deloads. But I'm a novice. I did take a week off recenty to recoup from an injury. Only benefit seemed to be fresher legs, which makes sense considering I squat two to three times a week and deadlift once.

Thanks in advance.

how are you doing 5/3/1 and squatting 2 to 3 times a week?

Usually adding squats to my deadlift day. And if I'm feeling extra ambitious, I'll throw in an extra day. Breaks down to Wednesdat squat, Friday deadlift and squat and Monday squat if I'm up to it. Not orthodox 5/3/1 obviously, more Mormon 5/3/1.

Take one if you feel you really need one, or life forces you to take one. Otherwise, don't. I'd do all the same activity and training I usually do, although with lower volume, and backing off intensity for any especially heavy work. Or I'll just wait until starting a new training cycle, and start light (generally a good idea, anyway) and the first week will be like a deload.

I think that most people don't really train hard enough to need regular deloads. Rather than deloading, they need to think about recovery, programming, and prehab.

I can normally feel when I need one but have been training for a number of years. If your a novice it might be worth scheduling one every two cycles on 531. Just until you can learn to listen to your body a bit better.

I've seen some programming where the intensity increases and the volume decreases each week for 3 weeks, then it repeats starting at a higher intensity.