1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

defense and leg-check drills (help)

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by LZD, Sep 3, 2010.

1. LZD

LZD Purple Belt

I have two major problems in Sparring.

1.) I find myself ducking my head and not watching the punches coming. Kind of like what a complete noob does when punches get thrown, blindly swinging. Except with me, it's head down, backing away, and not watching.

2.) I don't manage to check kicks very often. I have practiced the technique itself, but does anybody have a particular drill that works well for learning how to put the checks into use?

Another major problem I have identified, is that my boxing combinations fall apart like a chinese motorcycle when kicks are added. I think about the legs too much.

I am looking for help here beyond "you suck" and "spar more". I know I suck, and I will continue doing the latter, but I am also looking for some help with specific drills to help weed out these problems.

Thanks

2. FadeIntoViolenc

FadeIntoViolenc Orange Belt

Practice light technical sparring with only kicks. You throw one, he throws one right back. Worry about checking and defense and finding your TIMING and DISTANCE.

3. LZD

LZD Purple Belt

thanks. that's good advice. I will definitely do that next time I spar.

anyone else got any ideas?

4. mjw1

mjw1 Blue Belt

Skip rope so you are lighter on your feet thus easier to check kicks when you are too heavy footed or rooted in your stance it is harder to check kicks.

As for the ducking away you probablly aren't used to the punches coming at you try punching toward your own face to get used to fists coming at you and then more sparring and some type of 2 man punching drills.

5. Ryukyu Damashi

Ryukyu Damashi Ryukyu Damashi

The push up game