Dealing with noobs

pesadissimo

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
At my school we have a 6:30 am class twice a week that I love going to. It's been small (from 4-6 guys), but a steady group of mostly upper blues and myself, and it's nice because you get a lot more individual attention than you would in the evening when there are 30+ people.

In recent weeks, there's been an influx of completely new guys which doubled the class size. So now, instead of being a relaxed vibe of experienced guys, it's a beginner class where techniques have to be repeated a bunch of times, where drilling partners have no clue, and where spazziness has become the order of the day.

What sucks for me is that these morning classes represent fully half of my weekly training, so it's not like I want to just stop going. Plus I can work on techniques that I may not be able to hit yet on other guys. How do you guys deal with complete novices so that you're still pushing yourselves, even though they have no idea how to defend even a hand in the collar?

At my school we have a 6:30 am class twice a week that I love going to. It's been small (from 4-6 guys), but a steady group of mostly upper blues and myself, and it's nice because you get a lot more individual attention than you would in the evening when there are 30+ people.

In recent weeks, there's been an influx of completely new guys which doubled the class size. So now, instead of being a relaxed vibe of experienced guys, it's a beginner class where techniques have to be repeated a bunch of times, where drilling partners have no clue, and where spazziness has become the order of the day.