Deadlift vid

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by Porch_Rabbit, Oct 17, 2013.

1. Porch_Rabbit

Porch_Rabbit Blue Belt

I badly need my form checked on my deadlift, so I hoped someone here could help.

I posted this in my log as well. But I wanted to post it here in case no one really checks my log at all.

Like I have said, I am brand new to deadlifting so it still feels very unnatural to me. I did these two reps at the very end of my workout, which was a mistake. I should have had someone film me during my work sets, but whatever.

I notice that my upper back seems to break early on. How do I address that? Is that more to do with upper back weakness, or weakness of the abs and lower back? I would appreciate any other critique as well.

[YT]n6uhRwXyjtk&feature=youtu.be[/YT]

2. KILL KILL

KILL KILL Gold Belt

your butt is far too low.

3. Porch_Rabbit

Porch_Rabbit Blue Belt

Shit I didn't even really notice that. I was so concerned with keeping my back tight that I reverted to a squat. Thanks for that heads up.

4. dinpappa

dinpappa Purple Belt

Not to be picky, but since you wanted feedback :)

1. Your hip/butt starting postition is too low when the pull is initiated as KILL KILL pointed out.

2. You should get your shoulders back/chest up to activate more lats and ease your lockout for heavier pulls.

3. It seems like you could narrow your grip a few centimeters, gets it all tighter, shorter ROM, and tighter back.

4. Do no let the bar ride down your thigs and jump of your knees on the decent. Just move your ass back a few centimeters at the top and follow the bar straight down. (not stifflegged)

Keep on deadlifting :)

5. Porch_Rabbit

Porch_Rabbit Blue Belt

Pick away! That is what I was looking for anyways.