Dan Inosanto

armtriangle

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
Dan Inosanto will be at my academy saturday. Its $185 for a 10 hour day... seems kinda steep and long.

i really dont know much about him to be honest, i do mostly gi bjj, but mix in the occasional no-gi class. i think the class is for instructors, but mine asked me if i wanted to come

what do you guys know? is it worth it?

Does your academy teach kali/jkd also?

I guess it depends on what you want from a MA seminar. If you're looking for something that would primarily improve you gi and no gi jiu jitsu, I'd say don't go. He's amazing, but he won't teach stuff you'll want, I don't think.

FYI, as a former kali/jkd student, I have the ultimate respect for Guru Dan. I simply answered the question in the context of what the TS says are his interests.

yeah they have a kali class, no JKD specifically though. we do csw, bjj, vale tudo, and a kali class. thanks

its more that he's old and i dont know how much longer he'll be around thing. Thats why i threw in my interests, im not really sure what style he teaches. i have done a some muy thai, but i really prefer grappling to striking or mma. i just didnt know how applicable his stuff is and if it has any good crosssover appeal.

thanks

At the Inosanto seminars I have been to, the focus was mostly on Kali weapons.

Inosanto is very skilled in a lot of martial arts, but he has the most interest and skill in weapons. Therefore, his seminars usually reflect this.

If you would be unhappy working with the stick and the knife for a big chunk of that time, then the seminar probably isn't what you are looking for.

That's only $ 18.50 per hour for an opportunity to train under/with a legend.

I am pretty sure he is a black belt in BJJ as well.

Dan is a legend. You will be amazed by the stand up close in work he can do, the trapping and striking.

That's only $ 18.50 per hour for an opportunity to train under/with a legend.