Cross training question?

TKDaddict

White Belt
Reaction score
so i have been doing ITF tae kwon do for two years. anyway i have decided to start training muay thai. has anyone trained in both? what was the hardest thing about crossing over styles? what are the difference in kicks?

thanks.

The biggest thing is that you need to get rid of the point fighting mentality. Muay Thai is all about damage, power and toughness. Its not about trying to go through a whole fight without getting hit, its not really about flashy footwork and evasive tactics. Watch any Muay Thai fight, the guys barely move they just stand in front of each other and trade, usually the more powerful and better conditioned fighter wins.

Theres a couple of guys at my club who come from a TKD background, they seemed to find it quite hard to adjust to the footwork and keeping their hands up, but adjusted quite quick and now are some of he best stand up guys there

It is very different. The footwork, kicking, and striking are all different. AS mentioned keeping the hands up is something I have seen in numerous TKD guys as being a problem.

The difference in the kicks is that muay thai kicks are more like swinging a bat that is intended to go thru the target. The power comes from hip rotation and the floor. In TKD, the power comes from the leg and tends to stop on impact.

Oh, glad your here, I went through the same thing. I've done ITF Tae Kwon Do for the past 10 years of my life and am still going to compete for about a year or so. I've been kickboxing for about 4 years, muay thai for 2 years and mma for 1 year.