Cross-facing in BJJ

Resident A-hole

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I am relatively new to BJJ, but come from a judo background. The crossface was not used much in judo (in my experience), so defending it was new to me. I am noticing guys do a lot of crossfacing in BJJ sparring. I know this is fair game & I use it myself.

When I crossface, I just put enough pressure across the throat/jaw to make it painful if they try to move or pull me into them, etc. It's not really a choke, just an annoyance. I'm not trying to inflict real pain in a training situation.

Some guys I train with will put 100% of their weight behind a forearm across the other guy's throat when trying to pass guard. At that point, you are forced to defend it or be choked out. It can be very painful on your throat/adams apple.

The move definitely works, but is this normal to do it 100% in training, or do you guys feel that is a bit too much? Do you guys use this?

It is a dick move to do it in training. Same with trachea chokes. It is ok to practice using them, but don't do it 100%

Wrestlers cross-face a lot to set up things like cradles. I use it a lot for that and to set up chokes. I.E. Get their chin away from their chest. I think it is relatively harmless and I use it and have had it done to me in randori. A Judoka that I train with said that it is illegal in Olympic Judo, so they don't use it nearly as much. I think there are too many rules in that form of Judo!

Obviously a dick move to do. Sometimes though it's the only way to get the choke in. If dudes are doing it at 100% your only choice is to get better and defend it so it don't hurt is the way I look at it. If you could roll with this one instructor of mine who's a purple belt, he smooshes your face while on top of you. He is the oldest and dirtiest jiu jitsu dude around. Point being, you should just work around it. You going to bitch if for some reason someone does that in real life?