1. Come join Sherdog.com writers Ant Walker and Jason Burgos for our live video chat series titled "The Trenches," LIVE NOW, Click Here!

Critique my video

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by tylerL, Jul 29, 2010.

1. tylerL

tylerL White Belt

Hi everyone. I just recently started training BJJ and I decided to roll against my brother (who also just started training). We were just trying to have some fun, but please tell me what I could improve on. Remember, I just started training, so please go easy on me.

YouTube - Grappling Match

2. bnosam

bnosam Green Belt

When you go for a triangle, hook the leg near you and make a perpendicular angle so you can use your stronger muscles to choke him out and to prevent him from slamming you.

When you use a kneebar, keep both hands on the back of the ankle and pull towards you. This is so you can maintain control of his leg so he can't move it. also make sure to squeeze your legs tight together.

3. tylerL

tylerL White Belt

Thanks for the feedback, Ill do that

4. bnosam

bnosam Green Belt

here's a good video on finishing the triangle angle:

5. bnosam

bnosam Green Belt

Here's two videos by Stephan Kesting on common kneebar errors and triangle choke errors:

Also be careful with leglocks, some are dangerous and can hurt you bad enough that you don't feel anything until your leg gets damaged.

6. tylerL

tylerL White Belt

Thanks alot for those videos, thats some pretty helpful information

7. HardEight

HardEight Blue Belt

Dad - "What the hell happened to my TV?!?!?"

You - "We were having a grappling match dad."

Dad - *kneebars you*

8. bnosam

bnosam Green Belt

Not a problem, bro. Check the rest of Stephan's videos too for good helpful info

9. tylerL

tylerL White Belt

Is his youtube channel just his name?

10. bnosam

bnosam Green Belt

Yup

YouTube - StephanKesting's Channel