Critique my video

tylerL

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I just recently started training BJJ and I decided to roll against my brother (who also just started training). We were just trying to have some fun, but please tell me what I could improve on. Remember, I just started training, so please go easy on me.

YouTube - Grappling Match

When you go for a triangle, hook the leg near you and make a perpendicular angle so you can use your stronger muscles to choke him out and to prevent him from slamming you.

When you use a kneebar, keep both hands on the back of the ankle and pull towards you. This is so you can maintain control of his leg so he can't move it. also make sure to squeeze your legs tight together.

When you go for a triangle, hook the leg near you and make a perpendicular angle so you can use your stronger muscles to choke him out and to prevent him from slamming you.

When you use a kneebar, keep both hands on the back of the ankle and pull towards you. This is so you can maintain control of his leg so he can't move it. also make sure to squeeze your legs tight together.

Thanks for the feedback, Ill do that

Here's two videos by Stephan Kesting on common kneebar errors and triangle choke errors:

Also be careful with leglocks, some are dangerous and can hurt you bad enough that you don't feel anything until your leg gets damaged.

Thanks alot for those videos, thats some pretty helpful information

Dad - "What the hell happened to my TV?!?!?"

You - "We were having a grappling match dad."

Dad - *kneebars you*

How long have you been training for? Just wondering because you have videos up on how to do techniques.

IMO, I wouldn't be doing any leglocks being brand new. Just a little too much pressure and... POP, you're brother knee is broken. Leglocks are nothing to mess with.

How long have you been training for? Just wondering because you have videos up on how to do techniques.

i was wondering the same thing.