Constant arm pain (I'm a beginner)

Airthrow

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new at boxing...I'm trying to get serious about it, I've got to lose some weight to get down to welter weight (I'm 5'8", wide shouldered and stocky).

Anyways, at my gym basically you're on your own unless you compete, and I'm not there yet, so basically I just go there to work out until I can prove I have some potential. Since I don't really talk to anyone there, I have no idea: Is it supposed to hurt your arms and ribs after every workout?

Even though I throw way more jabs, my right bicep and tricep pretty much ALWAYS hurt a lot after I hit the bags and go home. Today I hurt my right arm particularly bad after a right hook to the heavy bag and had to take off my gloves so I could stretch it out.

Tiger balm seems to help a lot, but is the pain normal, or does it prove my technique is wrong or that I'm just out of shape? I'm pretty strong and have big arms.

Sounds like you are definitely doing something wrong. Also sounds like something is wrong with the gym if they don't provide any training. When you say they don't train you unless you compete - it sounds a little backwards to me; you can't get to a competitive level without training...I don't really understand the reasoning there.

Also if you had some training you would be getting instruction on correct technique and probably not hurting yourself on the bags. You might want to look at other gyms?

sounds like your doing something wrong
do you throw hooks with vertical fist to the bag?
because I know you can hurt your musles with that if you do it wrong

the ribs : sounds like the little muscles in between your ribs..maybe you try to take it to hard for a beginner? maybe your body isn't used to the kind of movement

but I would recommend a serious trainer who can say what your doing wrong