Considering taking a fight.... Should I?

mechanikjoe

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
So I'm a college student, I've been training MMA for about a year and want to have my first fight. Problem is, it would be on May 2, which is a Friday. I have a final on April 29, April 30, no test on the Thursday that weighins would be on, and my Nutrition final on the Friday of the fight, from 3-5. Anyone that has fight experience, what would you recommend I do? Do you get super stressed day of the fight, enough to make your brain not function as well as you would otherwise? I really want to fight, but I also really want to make damn good grades. Ugh. The good thing is that I don't have any big tests on the Thursday, which is when I'd be cutting the last of the weight. Any suggestions?

Sorry that this is in conditioning, wasn't sure where to post it?

No, give it a miss. You have too much going on there and the stress won't be good for your cardio, not too mention other things. It's up to you but I think you shouldn't fight. Exams are important.

Academics are way too important to fuck them up for a fight.

Skip it, school is important and fighting shouldn't be taken lightly.

Unless this is just a step in the ring and do it, don't care if you lose and won't do it again type thing, I would not recommend it (I wouldn't recommend it even if it was). If you have to make weight, that last week is going to be torture, your exams are way to important to miss for something you're doing for fun.

As was already said, the whole experience of fighting is very draining, no matter how calm you may be, you may experience a lot of things, such as lack of concentration, trouble sleeping, the jitters. You don't need these during exam period, you also don't need the stress of exams right before you fight.

In short, don't take the fight, it won't be your only oppurtunity, and good luck on your exams.