Conor McGregor, my take. (Analysis)

Discussion in 'The Lightweights' started by Jin Akutsu, Jan 19, 2015.

1. Jin Akutsu

Jin Akutsu Gengar Belt Platinum Member

I'm usually not one for trying to make posts with many words and rhetoric, and prefer to let the footage do the talking. Seeing a lot of the threads pop up recently about leg kicks, power, and everything else within I feel compelled to break it down to the best of my abilities. I am not a professional or claim to be, trained a few years in boxing when I was younger, but I've taken the task to approach this very seriously and apply the best of knowledge to break this down.

The format I'll be using will be going over the fighter, his traits, his strengths, and afterwords try and critically analyze the fighter without bias. All physical stats are taken from the fighter's respective wiki page.

"The Notorious" Conor McGregor:

Physical attributes:

Height: 5 ft 9 in (1.75 m)

Reach: 74.0 in (188 cm)

Fighting attributes:

Record: 17 wins (15 KO/TKO, 1 Decision, 1 Submission), 2 losses (2 submissions)

Notable wins: 1st round TKO vs Dustin Poirier, Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26) over Max Holloway, 2nd Round TKO vs Dennis Siver

Gym: SBG Ireland (Dublin, Ireland)

Belt(s): Brown belt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

Stance: Karate-based Southpaw

[​IMG]

Fighting style: Boxer who utilizes his reach to land long straight lefts, his best punch. Likes to set traps for counters, but will push the pace if necessary. Utilizes a solid jab alongside textbook hooks and bolo-punch style uppercuts. Constant movement, and angles to pressure opponents. For his kicking game, McGregor utilizes a wide variety of techniques. Capoeria, Taekwondo, and Karate styles are all present in his kicking game.

Analysis: