Confused about Sparring

Alibilly97

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Basically, when I stand up spar, I feel like most my combos aren't landing and the only shots i do possibly land are odd counters & I also feel hesitant to throw leg kicks, in fear they'd be useless, or be checked, has anyone got any tips to help with these issues:/

Your asking how to fight.

What do you want a complete breakdown of how to beat any opponent?
It doesn't exist, keep training and post a thread when you have a specific question.

I guess you are right!

To be more specific:
1. Tips on landing combos from pads in sparring with efficiency, rather than just using there guard as the pad and nothing happening?
2. Any tips when there a likely time a leg kick should be thrown with a higher percentage change of landing?

Last edited:
1. I'm a MT noob so I have the same trouble;

2. throw your leg kicks at the end of your combinations.

I think i worry about hurting myself on their knees haha

Its just everyone down our MMA is stronger than me so the only thing i have is technique, which is usually outdone anyway

Throw the combo against their guard and change levels, something will get through. Throw kicks mid combo.

'm wondering would it be possible/logical to push kick against there guard to split it?

[/B]

Is this true?

For beginners, yes. As you learn better technique and become more comfortable, I think its a good idea to out a few punches behind your kicks to discourage guys from moving in off of his block/check.

I'm not as advanced as some of the other posters here, but here's my 2c.

1. Tips on landing combos from pads in sparring with efficiency, rather than just using there guard as the pad and nothing happening?
2. Any tips when there a likely time a leg kick should be thrown with a higher percentage change of landing?