Computers and grappling

Mcmoon

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Has anyone else noticed a lot of people involved in technology as a career gravitate towards grappling or have I just had an odd experience?

I work in IT compliance, my current judo coach works in IT security I believe and John Carmack (creator of Doom and brown belt in judo) showed up to class today.

It's a geeky sport where knowledge is more important than physical prowess.

yeah. Being sweet at boxing without being fit for boxing is fucking dangerous.

Being sweet at BJJ without being fit for BJJ makes you feel good about yourself - cause it works so good.

It's a geeky sport where knowledge is more important than physical prowess.
yeah. Being sweet at boxing without being fit for boxing is fucking dangerous.

Being sweet at BJJ without being fit for BJJ makes you feel good about yourself - cause it works so good.
Unless you fight in the adult nogi division where if you are not fit you get your shit pushed in.

Has anyone else noticed a lot of people involved in technology as a career gravitate towards grappling or have I just had an odd experience?

I work in IT compliance, my current judo coach works in IT security I believe and John Carmack (creator of Doom and brown belt in judo) showed up to class today.
It depends on the person, this topic was brought up a few years back. Folks who enjoy puzzles and solving problems find a liking to BJJ more than striking.

I work in IT as well, but I enjoy stand up grappling/wrestling + striking more than BJJ.

Unless you fight in the adult nogi division where if you are not fit you get your shit pushed in.

From the people I've seen, it worked the other way around, they were geeks, not very fit guys and while progressing they started to cross train to get fitter and they have nothing to get ashamed when they do no gi.

But we can still talk about Lord of the Rings stuff

You can get away with being weak a lot more in no gi if you are skilled.