Computer problem..

Discussion in 'Mayberry Lounge' started by TrueBias, Aug 6, 2016.

  1. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    3 weeks ago, i spilled water on my computer, that has a vented ceiling. Shit got wet and didnt know what to do since it wouldnt turn on.

    Through guidance, we.figured out the vid card got fucked by buying a cheap vid card at best buy, installing, and tada! works. took it back and ordered a better one from newegg.

    but when that came, i couldnt plug my power supply into both ports it requires.

    friend said that my psu could be going bad since its old (he built it). i told him the cheap card i got from best buy worked fine. it was nvidia 950 for you tech guys. theone i ordered was a 960. thought that was odd that 1 step up required more juice (card that got fucked was a 710).

    anyway, i was thinking this card was just dead on arrival. so i ordered a 970, got 16g of ram (up from 4g), and a new 750 psu (old one was a 530w).

    i also did a driver sweep before installing the 970.

    SHIT IS STILL BAD. Video in games is horribly choppy. video on the internet is fine. Ive never experienced this.... computer worked fine up until i went up.from the 950!

    my questiom comes from my friends advice: "back your shit up. we have to format."

    Can codes/software really slow shit down?

    I made this in the mayberry cuz its not about video gaming, even though thats the test.
     
  2. scorpipede

    scorpipede you do yo thang Baby Smurf

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    25,860
    Likes Received:
    32,299
    buy an abacus.
     
  3. RawHawg

    RawHawg Black Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    5,752
    Likes Received:
    5,127
    How did you install the drivers for the 970? You may have some crappy windows compatibility driver that automatically installed. Go to the website for that card, and make sure you are running their latest drivers.
     
  4. jefferz

    jefferz Gold Belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22,856
    Likes Received:
    34,444
    Uninstall and reinstall your drivers. Make sure to use nvidias driver removal tool. If that doesn't work, you're going to have to reformat.
     
  5. HereticBD

    HereticBD Titanium Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    44,345
    Likes Received:
    70,642
    Location:
    In the hearts and minds of everyone
    You're kind of all over the place. You spilled water on it, and then figured out that your vid card wasn't working because it was a piece of shit from Best Buy. Then you ordered a new one, and you couldn't plug your power supply into both ports, and your friend said it might be because of your CPU going bad....

    Am I the only one who's confused?
     
  6. Cheese

    Cheese Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    19,784
    Likes Received:
    8,023
    windows 10 can fix that.
     
    mushishi and HelloJapan like this.
  7. jefferz

    jefferz Gold Belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22,856
    Likes Received:
    34,444
    Water fried the GPU. He bought a test gtx 960 at best buy. It worked. He returned it and bought a 970. Didn't have the proper connectors so he got a new PSU.
    Card runs like shit now.
    He needs to do a format/reinstall.
     
  8. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    thank you, yes. but i got a 950 as the test, then got a 960, now a 970.

    Went from.4gigs of ram to 16.
    Went from 530w to 750w.

    When i used the driver sweep, that shit knew i had a radeon vid card WAYYY ago. wait....no the radeon is what i got wet. anyway the driver sweep detected that.
    but now im so many cards deep. reformating would really do it? jesus, software.can really make shit run terribly.like this?
     
  9. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    the computer guy who recommended the format...and the one that built this rig, he said he was going to install win 10
     
  10. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    i didnt use theirs. i used...ddu?

    reformatting really works?

    reason why i keep asking is cuz now id have to get an external hd for.backup and i wasnt finacially ready.for buildimg a new rig.
     
  11. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    sorry, i was . typing on my.phone. still am hence all these fucking periods!
     
  12. scorpipede

    scorpipede you do yo thang Baby Smurf

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    25,860
    Likes Received:
    32,299
    buy an abacus.
     
  13. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    i used the cd that came with it. but its.exactly the same as the 960s. both of them detected a needed upgrade so i did it.

    im up to date and have a decent running system running like playdo shit plastered on the toilet after flushing 2x.
     
  14. jefferz

    jefferz Gold Belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22,856
    Likes Received:
    34,444
    I'd do a reformat, you've got a lot of things going on and could have corrupted drivers. Yes.
    Why did you choose a 970 btw?
     
  15. RighteousWar

    RighteousWar @JesusFreak Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4,322
    Likes Received:
    4,233
    Location:
    Not of This World
    You should PM @Forum Sentinal!

    Dude's a beast on them computers!
     
    John Wang likes this.
  16. marioh

    marioh Black Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    5,805
    Location:
    NYC
    Maybe the new ram u got is the issue and not the video card driver.
     
  17. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    budget controlling my need to be above average. usually i go for the top notch shit, but i was just in mode.repair.
     
  18. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    ram can go bad?


    wait no...shit started going bad once i got the 960. i didnt get ram with the 950.

    wait again...how would i know
     
  19. TrueBias

    TrueBias Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    11,528
    Likes Received:
    6,341
    hang on, no. i upgraded the ram after shit was acting weird.
     
  20. marioh

    marioh Black Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    5,805
    Location:
    NYC
    Did u put in new RAM by itself or did u add to what u had previously?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.