Complete newbie wanting to learn how to fight, where do I start?

Mystic Mac Miller

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
Not looking to go pro or even amateur as I am too old for that (recently turned 30). Never been in a fight my whole life outside of middle school and when I was a kid. I just want to able to learn how to hold my own in a fight against most people out there if it really does get to that point.

Was thinking of starting with BJJ and doing that for six months before I join a kickboxing gym. Does anyone have a better gameplan to offer me?

Reactions: Gio
Buy some Tap Out clothing it gives u +5 fighting.
or
Simply decide which martial art you like the most and take some classes. (My recommendation would be Muay Thai...)

Go to an MMA gym. Not bjj, not boxing, not kickboxing. Go to a gym where you learn how to do everything from the first day you walk in there.
About a year into training, you'll know the vast majority of the techniques and how to apply them correctly. From then on it's mostly just improving upon what you already know and polishing everything up.

Go to an MMA gym. Not bjj, not boxing, not kickboxing. Go to a gym where you learn how to do everything from the first day you walk in there.
About a year into training, you'll know the vast majority of the techniques and how to apply them correctly. From then on it's mostly just improving upon what you already know and polishing everything up.

So as a total newbie, consider an MMA gym?

Join a gym that offers BJJ and a striking art. One that doesn't cater strictly to fighters. Just keep showing up, and the rest will take care of itself.

BJJ comps and amateur kickboxing or muay thai bouts are fairly safe; give it a shot and learn something about yourself.

Join a gym that offers BJJ and a striking art. One that doesn't cater strictly to fighters. Just keep showing up, and the rest will take care of itself.